Webmastersite.net
Register Log In

Thumbshots.com Code Change
Thumbshots.com says to update code.

Comments on Thumbshots.com Code Change

hai
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Apr 03, 2007
Location: NY & PA

Total Topics: 94
Total Comments: 339
hai
Thumbshots.com Code Change
Posted Feb 26, 2013 - 11:33 am:

Instead of thumbnails to the sites, I am seeing a message that says:

IMPORTANT CHANGES VISIT THUMBSHOTS.COM

Visiting Thumbshots.com, I found this page www.thumbshots.com/Product...mages/IntegrationCode.aspx which tells me that I have to update the code I use to pull the thumbnails.

Will this be done in the next release or should I do it myself? Will you be doing this for my version (I'm running 6.2.41 now)?
Seelife
Beginner

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Nov 07, 2011

Total Topics: 1
Total Comments: 7
Seelife
Posted Feb 26, 2013 - 3:01 pm:
Hi - not only that but the free plan is limited to 5000 hits / mnth and with a link dir that can be done easily quite quickly.
Seelife
Beginner

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Nov 07, 2011

Total Topics: 1
Total Comments: 7
Seelife
Posted Feb 26, 2013 - 3:29 pm:
Looking at Thumboo to see if their php script can be integrated....
Seelife
Beginner

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Nov 07, 2011

Total Topics: 1
Total Comments: 7
Seelife
Posted Feb 26, 2013 - 4:01 pm:
Sorry about the extra posts.
The help box in WSN Links to show how to integrate the new code for Thumbshots is not right.
There is no setting to enter the code in ...... Admin -> Settings -> Listings -> Thumbshots in your WSN admin panel.

Thanks

EDITED
OK - Its under Admin>Tweeks



Edited by Seelife on Feb 26, 2013 - 4:16 pm
Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7860
Paul
Posted Feb 26, 2013 - 7:19 pm:
I've been working as fast as I can on this all day. The just-released 7.1.30 Beta 4 will allow you to use thumbshots.com again by entering the key and caches the thumbshots to try to stay below the 5000 limit, see these new instructions: scripts.webmastersite.net/w...k.php?action=detail&id=217

If anyone knows of a less limiting provider without other major drawbacks, let me know.

As for the 6.2 series, the old tweak for the paid thumbshots.com should actually work for the free thumbshots.com so yes you can use that thumbshotskey tweak... but it doesn't cache, so you may hit the limit very quickly, depending how they count hits. Once the changes have stabalized in 7.1 I'll decide whether it's practical to backport.

Edited by Paul on Feb 26, 2013 - 7:24 pm
finsandfur
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Apr 18, 2006

Total Topics: 28
Total Comments: 103
Posted Feb 27, 2013 - 10:31 pm:
Confirmed,
Admin > Settings > Listings, does not exist.
milouchouchou
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Location: Borlo Belgique

Total Topics: 27
Total Comments: 121
Posted Feb 28, 2013 - 4:35 am:

Admin > Settings > Links

First Option : Thumbshots:

finsandfur
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Apr 18, 2006

Total Topics: 28
Total Comments: 103
Posted Feb 28, 2013 - 5:27 am:
sad I'm using 7.1.30 and and I dont even have the Admin > Settings > Links thumbshots option either.

I dont understand this. The directions show a non existing admin section and some people find it in a different location and now some people dont have the option in thier admin section at all.

milouchouchou
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Location: Borlo Belgique

Total Topics: 27
Total Comments: 121
Posted Feb 28, 2013 - 6:03 am:

You must check the "Website Thumbshots" options in "Switches" to enter the key Thumbshots in the option Links

Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7860
Paul
#10 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Feb 28, 2013 - 11:59 am:
Yes, the field will be hidden if you have thumbshots switched off. If you have it switched on, then your admin panel templates must be outdated -- go to Manage Templates and click Admin CP templates and then click each one that's bolded as customized and use the "Revert to Standard" option to get them updated.
finsandfur
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Apr 18, 2006

Total Topics: 28
Total Comments: 103
#11 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Feb 28, 2013 - 4:37 pm:
lol yah I knew I had to have the switch enabled. sticking out tongue

It turned out to be outdated admin templates. Not sure how they would have got outdated, or even customized, but raised eyebrow

My thumbshots are back, thank you both.
kevinsan
Member

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Nov 11, 2011

Total Topics: 16
Total Comments: 26
#12 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Mar 10, 2013 - 3:47 am:
http://webthumbnail.org offers free thumbshots and api. Up to 500 x 500px.
Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7860
Paul
#13 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Mar 10, 2013 - 6:07 am:
Looks perfect, doesn't even seem to have a linkback requirement or provision against caching. Will integrate shortly.
Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7860
Paul
#14 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Mar 10, 2013 - 6:20 am:
Well I found the drawback: I tried to get a thumbshot of http://www.google.com with api.webthumbnail.org/?width...&url=www.google.com and it says "queued..."

If they can't handle a request for google.com within 10 minutes, I don't know if other sites will ever show up. Will test it out on a real directory and see what happens.

Edited by Paul on Mar 10, 2013 - 6:32 am
Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7860
Paul
#15 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Mar 11, 2013 - 1:59 am:
Webthumbnails still hasn't finished generating any thumbnails after a day, so it looks impractical.
Search thread for
Download thread as
  • 0/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5



Sorry, you don't have permission to post posts. Log in, or register if you haven't yet.