Webmastersite.net
Register Log In

customizing bulkedit.tpl

Comments on customizing bulkedit.tpl

joshberm
Nothing is impossible...

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Aug 07, 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida

Total Topics: 36
Total Comments: 91
Posted Oct 18, 2006 - 7:44 PM:

I am trying to set up the Bulk Edit page to allow changing of the category and alias categories for each link independently of the rest. For example, I'd like to change Link1's category to 4 and aliases to 6 & 9. Link2's categories would be 13 and aliases would 7 & 12. And so on for each link in that category...

1. Is this possible?
2. If so, what would be the code for the correct input fields for catid and aliasids?
3. Would it work with a dropdown box & multiple select box OR just text fields?
4. Do I need to make modifications to this part also?
<p>With selected,
<select name="action">
<option value="nothing">ignore selections, just edit</option>
<option value="delete">delete</option>
<option value="move">move to another category</option>
<option value="alias">alias to another category</option>
</select>
<br>If moving or aliasing, select a category:
<IF {SWITCH_CATSELECTOR}>
<select name="newcategory"><option value="">not applicable</option>{CATOPTIONS}</select>
<ELSE>
<input type="text" name="newcategory" size="6"> (type id number)
</IF>
</p>



joshberm
Nothing is impossible...

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Aug 07, 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida

Total Topics: 36
Total Comments: 91
Posted Oct 18, 2006 - 7:48 PM:

Here's what I'm going for. (The initial VALUE part of the textboxes works OK, but that is just calling up the existing {LINKCATID} and {LINKALIASEDIN}.)

Attached Files:
Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7867
Paul
Posted Oct 21, 2006 - 1:31 PM:

You're supposed to use the options in the menu at the bottom to move to a new category, but it could work in the list above as well. Secondary categories wouldn't.
mrowton
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Feb 19, 2004
Location: Michigan

Total Topics: 57
Total Comments: 185
mrowton
Posted Mar 22, 2007 - 5:44 PM:

version 4.0.20

I know how you hate it when old threads are dragged out but I was wondering if the above change still works?

I cut this from the bottom of the template;

p>With selected,
<select name="action">
<option value="nothing">ignore selections, just edit</option>
<option value="delete">delete</option>
<option value="move">move to another category</option>
<option value="alias">alias to another category</option>
</select>
<br>If moving or aliasing, select a category:
<IF {SWITCH_CATSELECTOR}>
<select name="newcategory"><option value="">not applicable</option>{CATOPTIONS}</selec t>
<ELSE>
<input type="text" name="newcategory" size="6"> (type id number)
</IF>
</p>


Added it inside the BEGIN LINKS area (i use the cat selector) but it doesn't seem to change the link categories.
Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7867
Paul
Posted Mar 23, 2007 - 8:01 PM:

The change he was describing didn't involve moving that, it involved just adding a column with an input field in the same format as all the others, but the field being catid.
mrowton
Forum Regular

Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Feb 19, 2004
Location: Michigan

Total Topics: 57
Total Comments: 185
mrowton
Posted Mar 24, 2007 - 5:00 PM:

Thank you, worked.

Is there a way to perfom a bulkedit on more than a category, perhaps a toplist?

Also, I want to use a dropdown selector like below;
<select name="color[{LINKID}]">
<option value="green">green</option>
<option value="blue">blue</option>
<option value="purple">purple</option>
</select>

I tried this and it does change the "color" link field but if I navigate away and back into bulkedit the selector defaults to the color that is first on the option list and not actual color of the link.

I have the same drop down box on the editlink template and it defaults to the correct option, not the top option.

Currently I'm doing the ugly workaround below;

<select name="color[{LINKID}]">
<option value="{LINKCOLOR}">{LINKCOLOR} - No change</option>
<option value="green">green</option>
<option value="blue">blue</option>
<option value="purple">purple</option>
</select>
Paul
developer

Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California

Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7867
Paul
Posted Mar 25, 2007 - 7:33 PM:

The bulk edit only works by category at the moment. I plan more flexible bulk search/editing for the 4.1 admin panel.

I'm aware there's no selection handling for selectors there.
Search thread for
Download thread as
  • 0/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5



This thread is closed, so you cannot post a reply.